Call to Purpose

“I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot;  I would that you were cold or hot.  16 ‘So because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of My mouth.”

Revelation 3:15-16 New American Standard Translation

I’ve been wandering, and wondering. Wandering through my days, especially after work.

Oh I may be home with the wife and kids, but still I was wandering. Thinking so much about this life, about my life, and the approach I have taken in it, especially recently, and thinking about the church, both my local church and the universal church as well. My wandering has led me to wondering. I wonder as I wander the old hymn says.

I wonder if we as the Church, especially here in the U.S. realize that perhaps we are living in the Modern Day Laodicea. What is even more scary, is I wonder how many people are like me, finding that in our own lives we represent Laodicea as God was speaking to in Revelation. Neither hot nor cold. We often speak of something lukewarm, but I think in this day and age we have forgotten how disgusting lukewarm can be. If you don’t drink cofee, have you every made the mistake of drinking an open can of soda that alas has been open for an entire evening or more? It’s stale and flat and nasty, and that is the point of the verse. Nothing is really worse in your walk as a Christian than nothing.  It is also important to note that both we and preachers we listen to often stop at verse 16 in Revelation chapter 3, or we instead label verse 17 and 18 referring to it in a true literal approach.

17 ‘Because you say, “I am rich, and have become wealthy, and have need of nothing,” and you do not know that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked,  18 I advise you to buy from Me gold refined by fire, that you may become rich, and white garments, that you may clothe yourself, and that the shame of your nakedness may not be revealed; and eye salve to anoint your eyes, that you may see.

While certainly the above could apply directly to someone who is rich, the point is not really about wealth, but that we presuppose we have the answers. We as the church so often buy into the idea that life will be easy if we are Christians, and that those suffering from some affliction or struggle are doing something wrong. Yet God says here that we would be wise to buy refined gold from Him. Refined as through a refiner’s fire. As someone who once entertained the idea of taking up blacksmithing as a hobby, let me tell you that is not some nice soothing fire.

So what is the point of my post? Why do I call it “Call to Purpose”
The point is this, I realized I felt called to do two things.

  1. To become “cold” or “hot” as the passage in Revelation speaks to. And the first part of that is to study God’s word. By blogging I can do that, and should people read it I can be held to account on that study.
  2. To share what I see in the Church, and hopefully help others to feel called as I to stop living in Laodicea.

So I hope you find this post and forthcoming posts be edifying as I begin this journey to leave my personal edition of  Laodicea.

Yours in Christ,

Mark J

Leave a Reply

