Getting back to Basics.

So now what?

The Lord in his grace and mercy have pointed out to me a serious problem in my life. I feel very strongly that my witness is lukewarm. Thats a first step for sure, I mean it means that God in his infinite grace and mercy has given me a glimpse into my own heart, for as the prophet Jeremiah says:

9 “The heart is more deceitful than all else
And is desperately sick;
Who can understand it?

And ultimately it is that deceitful heart that leads  us, me in particular, to convince ourselves that we are doing OK. A Christian has struggles, it is a fact of life, and sometimes those struggles are with themselves.

So anyway, what I’ve realized is that I need to get back to the basics. And just like the old thing about the basics in school, there are 3 basics in a Christian’s life.

  1. Prayer
  2. Daily Devotions
  3. Group Fellowship/Worship

Those 3 things are what must drive any Christian’s life. If you think about it those three things are encapsulated in the the distillation of the 10 commandments that Jesus gave to us. Namely to love the Lord our God with all our heart mind and soul, and to love our neighbor as ourselves. And the irony is in today’s internet driven society, basic number 3 is by far the hardest thing to do.

Leave a Reply

