My first Basic in the Christian walk: Prayer

18 With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints

Ephesians 6:18

Prayer, it is so easy to write this one off, at least until we are in real trouble. Then the old canard  gets used, namely “even an Atheist is praying in a foxhole”, and when things are bad that canard is far truer than many realize. In order to stop living in Laodicea, though I know I need more and more to remember to actually pray all the time, and I mean real prayer, real heart to heart time with the Lord. I mean I pray at every meal, and I pray with my kids, and I pray at church, and I pray often for fmaily issue, but I all to often dont’ just pray to God about my life, I don’t pour out my soul nearly often enough.

24 A man of too many friends comes to ruin,

But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.

Proverbs 18:24

Jesus Christ is that friend that the Author of proverbs was truly talking about here, and yet if you are like me you don’t take the time to speak to that great friend except maybe to do the equivalent of talking about the weather. I have started reading for the first time in a very long time The Necessity of Prayer by E.M. Bounds. I would encourage every Christian who can get a copy of this book, in any format, to read it. I warn you though this is a dangerous road if you think things are fine in your life, because prayer will change you. I am reminded of the scene in the Movie Shadowlands where Anthony Hopkins as C.S. Lewis says the following:

That’s not why I pray, Harry. I pray because I can’t help myself. I pray because I’m helpless. I pray because the need flows out of me all the time, waking and sleeping. It doesn’t change God, it changes me.

I pray in all sincerity that I, and truly all in the Church can say the same as we grow in our relationship with the Lord God Almighty and his Son and our Savior Jesus Christ.

In Christ,

Mark

Leave a Reply

