Basics #2 Daily Devotions, or Bible study.

I don’t know about you, but I have such a hard time with this one. I mean the first thing I talked about was prayer, and while I certainly still need to pray more and pray more in the right manner, at least I prayed some. Alas unlike prayer, I often just drop Devotions out of the repertoire altogether. And yet think of Psalm 1. I’ve made my stepson memorize it, though I’m sure he’s forgotten it by now, and will may my two younger children memorize it as well.

1 Blessed is the man

who walks not in the counsel of the wicked,

nor stands in the way of sinners,

nor sits in the seat of scoffers;

2 but his delight is in the law of the Lord,

and on his law he meditates day and night.

3 He is like a tree

planted by streams of water

that yields its fruit in its season,

and its leaf does not wither.

In all that he does, he prospers.

4 The wicked are not so,

but are like chaff that the wind drives away.

5 Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgment,

nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous;

6 for the Lord knows the way of the righteous,

but the way of the wicked will perish.

Notice that entire Psalm is about having devotions, a Bible study, and not just every so often, or once in a while, but every day. If God commands it in Psalm 1, and let’s be honest I could throw out a slew full of other passages, then how can we not find ourselves living in Laodicea when we aren’t serious about our studies in the word of God. At the moment I’m using these blog entries as is to remind me to read some of the Lord’s word, and while this is helpful it is only part of the solution. I mean even if someone did exactly what I am doing now, it would only be for a short while. Truth is you have to have a plan, a daily plan at the very least, and quite honestly a much longer range goal than just daily.

A devotional is great, and I’m not against them. I love things like “Morning and Evening’s” by C.H. Spurgeon, but that is only the beginning. You only need the Bible itself, but if you have access to a computer and other books as well I do recommend you start with 3 things:

  1. A plan/reader in order to read the Bible in a year. Honestly I would hope you get multiples of these. Because you will want to mix up reading passages each year.
  2. A devotional or 10, again this is a build up over time, but if you only have the aforementioned devotional by Spurgeon it will eventually get boring, and you will stop reading, which gets you back to where I am now.
  3. A tool or plan to use the above. It could be something as simple as a notepad, or something as complicated as a whole software suite. Ultimately it doesn’t matter so long as you stick to the tool you are using.

I will really only speak to point number 3 and that’s because I’m a layman and a software guy to boot. When computers are your living, directly or indirectly, that’s what you focus on so often. So next time, for better or for worse you will get my look at Bible Software, and believe me I’ve tried a bunch of them.

Yours in Christ,

Mark

Leave a Reply

